MEETING MINUTES

CENTRAL IOWA REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ALLIANCE (CIRTPA) TRANSPORTATION POLICY COMMITTEE (TPC)

AND

TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL COMMITTEE (TTC)
JOINT VIRTUAL MEETING
JANUARY 18, 2024

CIRTPA TTC Members Present:

Jonathan Bullock| Boone County
Michael Frietsch | Jasper County
Mike Hackett | Madison County
Tyler Christian | Marion County
Aaron Putnam | Polk County
Darren Moon | Story County
Tim Hill | Warren County
Kip Overton | City of Adel
Waylon Andrews | City of Boone
Heather Denger | City of Huxley
Akhilesh Pal| City of Indianola
Larry Stevens | City of Nevada
Brian Dunkelberger | City of Newton
Josh Wuebker| City of Perry
Julia Castillo | HIRTA

CIRTPA TTC Members Absent:

Murray McConnell | Dallas County Heather Ussery | City of Knoxville Denny Buyert | City of Pella Mark Jackson | Story City Robert Hendricks| City of Winterset Shelby Ebels | IDOT* Kyle Thompson | Ames Darla Hugaboom | FHA

CIRTPA TPC Members Present:

Bill Zinnel | Boone County Michael Frietsch | Jasper County Tyler Christian | Marion County Aaron Putnam | Polk County Linda Murken | Story County Mark Snell | Warren County Kip Overton | City of Adel Waylon Andrews | City of Boone Dave Haugland | City of Huxley Steve Richardson | City of Indianola Larry Stevens | City of Nevada Brian Dunkelberger | City of Newton Josh Wuebker | City of Perry Julia Castillo | HIRTA

CIRTPA TPC Members Absent:

Brad Golightly | Dallas County
Heather Stancil | Madison County
Heather Ussery | City of Knoxville
Denny Buyert | City of Pella
Mark Jackson | Story City
Drew Bardon || City of Winterset
Shelby Ebel | IDOT*
Kyle Thompson | Ames
Darla Hugaboom | FHA
Luis Montoya | DART

Others Present:

Adam Streeter | Mid-American Energy Katie Lord | Mid-American Energy Elijah Feuerhelm | Mid-American Energy Marcus Coenen | FHU Kyle Thompson

Staff Present:

Andrew Collings | Principal Planner Dylan Mullenix | Interim Executive Director- MPO Tracey Deckard | Office Manager

1. Call to Order

The CIRTPA TPC and the CIRTPA TTC January 18, 2024, Joint Committee Meeting was called to order at 9:32 a.m. A quorum was present for the CIRTPA TPC and CIRTPA TTC.

2. Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded by TTC and TPC to approve the joint CIRTPA meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded by TTC and TPC to approve the meeting minutes. **MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

.

4. Regional Transportation Issues to be Discussed and Public Input

None.

5. Presentation: Mid-American Energy

Representatives from Mid-American Energy provided an overview of their experience and expertise the construction and maintenance of Electric Vehicle (EV) infrastructure.

6. Approval of the Financial Statements

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the Financial Statements.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded by TTC and TPC to approve the Financial Statements.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

7. <u>Des Moines Area MPO Invoice to CIRTPA for 2nd Quarter FY 2024.</u>

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the 2nd Quarter FY 2024 invoice from the MPO.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded by TTC and TPC to approve payment of the

2nd Quarter FY 2024 invoice from the MPO.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

8. Denman & Co. LLP Invoice to CIRTPA for the FY 2023 Audit

Staff presented. Recommend approval to pay the invoice submitted by Denman & Co. LLP for the 2023 Audit.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded by TTC and TPC to approve payment for the FY 2023 Audit.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. Invoice from FHU for the Safe Streets for All Safety Action Plan Development

Staff presented. Recommend approval to pay the current invoice from FHU for the Safe Streets for All Safety Action Plan Development.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded by TTC and TPC to approve payment of the

invoice from FHU for the Safe Streets for All Safety Action Plan

Development.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. Officers for Calendar Year 2024

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the proposed slate of officers for CY 2024 as

follows: TPC: Chair- Josh Wuebker

Vice-Chair Kip Overton Sec/Treasurer- Mark Snell

TTC: Chair- Matt Ferrier

Vice-Chair vacant Sec/Treasurer vacant

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded by TTC and TPC to approve the proposed

slate of officers.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. <u>Planning Area Boundary Adjustments for the Ames Area MPO and Des Moines Area MPO</u>

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the proposed changes to the Ames Area MPO and the Des Moines Area MPO Planning Areas. Recommend approval.

No vote taken, members requested additional time to review.

12. Planning Services and Administration Agreement with MIPA

Staff presented. Report on the ongoing discussion with MIPA for planning services and administrative services. Recommend approval.

No vote taken; members wanted to hold off of approving this agreement until additional information is provided.

13. FY 2025 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget Development

Staff presented. Discussion of the process to develop the next work program and budget.

Report and discussion only.

14. Safe Streets for All Safety Action Plan Update

Marcus Coenen from FHU provided an update on the progress of the SS4A Safety Action Plan. Report and discussion only.

15. <u>National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure and Charging (NEVI) and Fueling</u> Infrastructure Grant (CFI) Programs Update

Staff presented. Report on the NEVI and CFI programs regarding electric vehicle infrastructure development in Central Iowa.

Report and discussion only.

16. Federal Fiscal Year 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program Development

Staff presented. Report on the process to develop the Federal Fiscal Years 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).

17. CIRTPA Small Communities Fund Application and TAP Process Update

Staff presented. Report on the CIRTPA STBG application process for non-allocation communities/organization and TAP application process.

18. Other Non-Action Items

none

19. Next Meeting Date

The next meeting will be held on Thursday, March 21. 2024.

20. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:55 a.m.